I really considered to go and see Broadway’s Sister Act when it was scheduled to take the stage in Singapore in December 2015. But the event page was taken down from SISTIC website before I made up my mind. Fast forward to early 2017, I noticed the musical was to (re-)open in May. Funnily, I wasn’t interested this time. Not until travel blues stroke following a 17-day holiday in the UK. The “illness” didn’t go away even after a week as I kept yearning to board an aeroplane and go somewhere. Eventually I thought another Saturday trip to Singapore could somehow “cure” it. So I jetted off to Singapore for the first weekend show on the musical’s opening week.

No merchandise were sold (The gift shop was closed) but staffers in the theatre foyer had programme for sale. Also in the foyer, there was a lifesize cutout of the sisters for patrons to take picture with. I couldn’t find the cast list so I assumed everybody listed in the programme took the stage that day.

There were some technical flaws during the show, most notably the sounds, but the actors’ performances were flawless. Dené Hill, Rebecca Mason-Wygal, and Sophie Kim nailed all their high notes. Not less amazing was the lively performances by Emma Brock and Nancy Evans. Overall, an artistically entertaining and musically amazing show.

sister-act-singapore-2

Sister Act
Mastercard Theatres, Marina Bay Sands, Singapore
13 May 2017 matinée
Deloris Van Cartier/Sister Mary Clarence: Dené Hill
Curtis Jackson: Brandon Godfrey
“Sweaty” Eddie Souther: Will T. Travis
Mother Superior: Rebecca Mason-Wygal
Mary Robert: Sophie Kim
Mary Patrick: Emma Brock
Mary Lazarus: Nancy Evans

