Les Misérables closes this Sunday after an almost two-month tour in Singapore. I had the opportunity to see the musical’s matinée show on 25 June at the Esplanade Theatre. The 2016 Singapore tour features a mix of UK (Queens Theatre) and Australia cast. I was lucky to see one of the shows in which nearly all of the principles performed. One exception was the role of Madame Thénardier which was played by understudy Sarah Murr instead of Helen Walsh. But Murr was great, too, although her dramatic change of tone when seeing Cosette came home with Valjean wasn’t really noticeable. It was a terrific afternoon with excellent cast. Everybody knows who Simon Gleeson and Earl Carpenter are. But my favourite was Paul Wilkins, who played Marius. His voice was flawless: clear and sharp, but undoubtedly youthful.

I was so used to the videos of the 10th and 25th anniversary concerts, and that was my first time seeing the musical with full props. No need to ask how it was. Simply a-m-a-z-i-n-g.

The tickets were expensive (the most expensive among all of my Singapore weekend getaways’ so far), but definitely worth it. I bought the 25 June ticket because that was the date with the best seat I could find for Saturday afternoon. And that was like 3.5 months before the performance. I heard the opening night’s tickets sold out within minutes. No wonder….

LesMizSG2

“Les Misérables”
(Cameron Mackintosh’s new production)
Esplanade Theatre, Singapore

25 June 2016 matinée
Jean Valjean: Simon Gleeson
Javert: Earl Carpenter
Fantine: Patrice Tipoki
Mme Thénardier: Sarah Murr
Thénardier: Cameron Blakely
Éponine: Kerrie Anne Greenland
Cosette: Emily Langridge
Enjolras: Chris Durling
Marius: Paul Wilkins
Gavroche: Sebastian Witt

 

