As Scandinavian cuisine was virtually impossible to find in Jakarta, I was determined to make the best of my short 3-day visit in Sweden. I first went to Malmö for half a day, where I had Burger King for lunch (>_<). I then went to Stockholm. There were trips to Burger King and McDonald’s as well during the 2.5 days spent there. Still, I was much more fortunate in the capital city when it came to food adventure.

THE HEARTY

My family was quite a fan of IKEA (Not a die-hard, though.), so a visit to the IKEA store that was once the largest in the world was automatically included in our Stockholm itinerary. And of course we went to try the Swedish meatballs made famous in Southeast Asia by IKEA. I had its signature “köttbullar med gräddsås” with “chokladboll” and home-brand lingonberry & elderflower drinks. Like!

sweden1

Where: IKEA Stockholm Kungens Kurva


I thought the best way to try as many Swedish foods as possible was to have the renowned smörgåsbord buffet dining. You’d get everything from the herrings to the meatballs in one go. My smörgåsbord experience was rather anticlimatic due to cramps from overeating. 😀 Nevertheless, I enjoyed it very much and would love to have another go someday! Read my blog entry on smörgåsbord here.

sweden2

Where: The Veranda in the Grand Hotel


THE BITSY

Had hotdogs and “rum raisin” and “butterscotch toffee” ice creams for snacks after a 1.5-hour visit to the Vasa Museum. There’s no way you can call them “single scoops” in Jakarta!

sweden3

Where: Josefin’s ice cream & hotdog, on the right-hand side of the street leading to the entrance of the Vasa Museum behind the Nordiska Museum.


THE SUGARY

The famous Nobel Ice Cream served with Nobel chocolate medal.

sweden4

Where: Bistro Nobel in the Nobel Museum


Swedish cakes. Who could resist them?

Where: (Left) A small food court in Djurgården, between the ABBA Museum and Gröna Lund; (Right) A cafe in Arlanda Airport.


THE WEIGHTY

Went back home with a luggage full of some of IKEA’s home-brand products and as many Marabou chocolates I could lay my hands on!

sweden7

