I left for a holiday in Copenhagen armed with a to-eat list. Eventually I managed to tick off most of the items, but flight disruptions and other things cost me, among others, cherry wine, mead (honey wine) and Viking-menu lunch in Roskilde. At the end of my 6-day stay, smørrebrod remained the number-one and hotdog and Cocio remained synonymous with Danish street food. but it was the crowds at an ice cream parlour tucked away in a residential area that made my day and made the ice cream the food I enjoyed the most.

THE HEARTY

Got two kinds of Danish food in one dish: warm frikadeller on a slice of smørrebrod, served with sliced beetroot. For the drink I had hyldeblomst (elderflower) drink which stole my heart as immediately as Egyptian hibiscus tea had. 🙂

denmark1

Where: Højbro C Sandwich & Cafe on Højbro Plads, just off the Amagertorv-part of Strøget.


I wasn’t done with the smørrebrod, so I ordered them again on another lunch. Not just one, but a platter of three! The toppings included roast beef, mushroom and fried fish fillet. Washed them up with…another bottle of elderflower drink!

denmark2

Where: Cafe Oven Vande, near the Vor Frelsers Kirke (Church of Our Saviour).


Had breakfast at Strøget on morning. I ordered this “Kongens Nytorv” morning plate that consisted of soft-boiled egg, ham, skyr with fresh berries and maple syrup, jam, cheese and cut fruits. They were good but not filling. Would have something from the brunch menu next time!

denmark3

Where: Europa 1989 on Amagertorv, Strøget.


THE BITSY

Went to have lunch at this cool place called Copenhagen Street Food on Papirøen by the grand canal. I ordered a couple of hotdogs (“Nordisk” and “Klassisk Dansk”) from one of the food trucks, a more posh version of the ubiquitous pølsevogn (hotdog wagons).

denmark4

Where: Pølse Kompagniet‘s food truck at Copenhagen Street Food, Papirøen.


THE SUGARY

Can’t visit Denmark without having Cocio! And it’s even better to drink it when having hotdogs at one of the hotdog wagons in the city.

denmark5


Desserts time at Rajissimo. The parlour is actually well-known for its churros and waffle sticks. I had this double cup of “brownie bomb” and “nougat” ice creams at their Nyhavn outlet.

denmark6

Where: Rajissimo, various locations.


I might not try every ice cream in Copenhagen, but observing the crowds, Ismageriet could be one of the best ice creams in the city! It might not have the best location (from tourists’ point of view): in the middle of a rather quiet residential area, quite a distance from metro stations and served by only one bus route. But I knew I was in the right place by the time I saw the crowds, and became even more convinced after I had my “hvidchokolade (white chocolate)” – “nougat med honning (nougat and honey)” – “hyldeblomst sorbet (elderflower sorbet)” triple cup. Would definitely take another detour to Ørestad when I’m back in Copenhagen again!

denmark7

Where: Ismageriet, Ørestad.
Access: (Metro) Bella Center or Ørestad Stations; (Bus) #33 to/from the Copenhagen City Hall


Final treat from Copenhagen ticked another item off my to-eat list: Danish-style apple trifle by the name of æblekage! Tak, Danmark!

denmark8

Where: A food truck serving Danish/Nordic foods at Copenhagen Street Food, Papirøen.


THE WEIGHTY

Went back to Jakarta with a bag of assorted Dumle toffees (actually a Finnish product), Royal Dansk’s butter cookies and Anthon Berg’s chocolates.

denmark9

