I did some research on swedish cuisine ahead of my short holiday in Sweden. As I would have only half a day in Malmö and a total of 2.5 days in Stockholm, I decided that the best way to try as many Swedish foods as possible in one go was to have smörgåsbord buffet dining.

After further research, I found that the smörgåsbord served at The Veranda at the Grand Hotel Stockholm was among the most famous, so I went there for dinner on my second day in Stockholm. The smörgåsbord wasn’t available all day, but only for a couple of hours during lunch time and then from 6pm onwards. The restaurant provided a pamphlet containing information on smörgåsbord including the recommended order of courses. I decided to follow (most of) the instructions and take a small bit of everything.

Round 1 started with the herring dishes. There were seven types of herring and I took one piece of everything which included pickled, curry and beetroot herrings. I usually can’t enjoy foods that require acquired taste, but I found the pickled herring delicious!

1

 

Next up were cheese and crispbread. That was the smallest bit of bread I could find. There were two other types of cheese, but I thought I would have them later.

2

 

My third trip to the buffet was for the salmon dishes. They included, among others, hot and cold smoked salmon and my favourite cured salmon called “gravlax”.

3

 

I began to feel full, so I skipped the salads and egg dishes and went straight for the cold cuts. I struggled with this dish and it was the course that took most time to finish.

4

 

The hot dishes on Round 5 were very good and I enjoyed them more than the assorted hams and salami on the previous course. But no matter how slow I ate, it was still difficult to finish them all.

5

 

I pride myself in being able to eat any desserts no matter how full I am after a meal. There’s always a “spare space” for sweets. But not this time! I barely had strength to have another round, or even to eat. My stomach was hard and a bit painful. But thinking this experience would never be complete without desserts, I pushed myself to make one last trip to the buffet.

6

 

In the end, I didn’t manage to try the other two cheeses. I also skipped the salads, most of the egg dishes, some of the desserts and fresh fruits. I didn’t eat much during lunch but then I had to finish a large ice cream at the Nobel Musem just over an hour before I had the smörgåsbord. Maybe that what made me full so fast.

Part of the dining experience might be agonising, but I had great time trying smörgåsbord for the first time. Would love to have another go someday! 🙂

